Shaoxing Qiaobo Ice and Snow World

Looking for a thrilling adventure? Qiaobo Ice and Snow World in Keqiao, Shaoxing, China may be the adventure that you are craving for. Just a bus and a short walk away from the city, Qiaobo Ice and Snow World is an indoor skiing and snowboarding resort that offers 40,000 sqm of snow with 30 meter-long ski runs, 3 degree slopes, 300 meters-long, and even a 17 degree slope.

The rates range from 125 RNB to 270 RNB for four hours. They have different rates according to the day you go on. It’s cheapest on Tuesdays and Thursdays, then on Mondays and Wednesdays, and it’s the most expensive from Friday-Sunday. Also make sure to prepare 500-700 RNB, but don’t worry they’ll return that to you as soon as you return all the gear in one piece.Processed with VSCO with j3 presetYou don’t have to worry about the large amount of people because the place is so huge that you won’t even notice it. There is a practice area not in the picture where you can try out the skis and get the hang of things. Then you can choose to go to the middle part of the slope, or a bit higher, or a bit lower, or you can take a walkalator all the way up to the top.Processed with VSCO with j3 presetAt first I stayed in the lower part of the slopes while I was getting the hang of things, eventually though, I gained enough courage to slowly crawl my way upward. First I started one fourth of the way, then midway. Each time was exhilarating and got my adrenalin pumping. After some time, I decided to finally go all the way up.
Processed with VSCO with j3 presetI was planning on taking a picture from there but once I got there, I couldn’t even bring my phone out for fear of dropping it. It doesn’t seem so high from the bottom, but when you’re all the way on top, it suddenly becomes very scary. I almost backed out, but unfortunately, there is no way to go down except to ski or maybe walk all the way, but then that’s pretty hard too. After several deep breaths and pumping myself up, I was able to do it! Thankfully, I didn’t fall despite some parts of the snow being really slippery because of the ice. I was actually able to do it three times, and I was scared each time. However, it was an amazing experience that I do not regret and that you should definitely not miss out on.

It just goes to show that you shouldn’t let fear get in the way. It’s normal to be scared, but do the thing you’re afraid to do anyway. Do it afraid. It’ll be worth it.

Check video on:

Leave a Reply

