2016: The Year of Realizing Stuff; 2017: The Year To Just Go For It

For the past three or four years, I’ve made it my personal tradition to do something new with my hair in preparation for the new year. It’s become my way of saying good bye to the previous year and kind of preparing myself for the next. Now, I’ve always wanted to try short hair but I’ve always been too afraid because I’ve always had long hair. With all the things that happened this year however, I decided to just go for it and cut my hair.

It wasn’t easy, since I’ve grown so attached to my hair. I asked a lot of people, multiple times, if I should push through with it. I talked myself out of the decision and back into the decision several times as well. In the end, I finally went out of my comfort zone.

Although I was really scared at first, I don’t have any regrets now. As a way to celebrate, my boyfriend and I strolled through the streets of Makati for a quick shoot. Preparing for the shoot, I was afraid. I was afraid that my my essence or my “Mitziness” would change after the hair cut and that who I am and my style would have to change as well. I was afraid that I wouldn’t know how to take good pictures anymore.


However, when I pieced together my outfit for the shoot, I realized that my style was never dependent on my hair. I realized that it really is just hair and that it’s silly for me to have been so attached and dependent on it. I always used to think that without my hair, I wouldn’t be me. That’s not true though, our essence isn’t dependent on how we look. Our  looks and style don’t define who we are, who we are defines our style and how we look.

Cutting my hair has made me more confident and has made me believe in myself more. It reminded me that nothing, not hair, not how I dress, no material thing, and not even a bad experience, can strip me off my essence unless I let it. I realized that I shouldn’t let such anything hold me back from what I want to do. Be that my hair, my comfort zone, or even what the people around me say or think. I should just go for it and reach my dreams.

That’s why if you are thinking of doing something, but you’re really scared. Just go for it! It’s a new year, and it’s the perfect time to face your fears and do whatever it is that you want to do. Happy New Year everyone! What have you realized this 2016? And what things are you going to go for this 2017? Tell me in the comments below!

More about my outfit here: School Girl Chic

3 thoughts on “2016: The Year of Realizing Stuff; 2017: The Year To Just Go For It

  1. Jemima says:

    Oh my goodness, I love your hair! The colour, the cut, everything! I’ve never had long hair (it’s not in my genes) but I can say it looks like a lot of stress. Short hair is so much easier to manage and I think it frames your face quite well. You look so good! I love your outfit too.
    It’s great that your hair taught you that you don’t have to be defined by your features or experiences if you don’t want to. And I can certainly see that innate confidence coming through in your pictures. Good for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

