Sweet Escape

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies… The man who never reads lives only one.” -George R.R. Martin

Some of you may have noticed that I don’t rate books. I guess it’s because to be able to rate a book fairly, I would have to have a set criteria for books. I don’t think I can ever find a good enough criteria for books though. I could compare them to each other but each book is so different from the next, even books by the same author. I can’t rate books based on how I feel because I read them at different points of my life, in different emotional states.

It’s especially hard to rate books because I usually end up loving all the books I read. Maybe because I treat books as my escape. When I’m feeling down and I have no clue why, I pick up a book and it gives me a fresh perspective on life. If I didn’t have books to run to as my escape, I probably wouldn’t be the person I am today.

I’ve loved to read ever since I can remember. I remember reading my first chapter books at the age of 6. They were The Little Prince and Jonathan Livingston Seagull, and I was absolutely captivated by this other world that I could transport to just by opening a book. I’ve learned from the experiences of each character I’ve ever met through reading. Each time I pick up a new book, I learn something new. Even when I read the same book, I still learn something new.

I can definitely say that books have saved my life countless of times. The events I experienced through the books have given me insight on how to face my problems in real life. When I’m feeling sad, I’m able to escape into this world that is constant. A world, where, even though there are plot twists, has the same ending. Even if that ending isn’t a good one, the characters usually find some type of closure. Somehow that gives me hope that at the end of my story, I’ll find some type of closure, some type of happiness. Books are one of the reasons why I still hold on, why I choose to keep fighting, to keep living.

I can’t express enough how much I love books. How about you? What are books to you? How have books helped you? I’d love to hear about it in the comments.

9 thoughts on “Sweet Escape

  1. Calum Labrador. says:

    This is beautiful. 🙂 It’s been a long time since I last read a book for leisure, and this got me wanting to go back to fiction reading huhu

    Like

Leave a Reply

