Newbie Dream Chaser

We all have dreams in life. This usually involves having a good job, being successful, having a family, and being happy. As we get older, this general idea becomes more specific, we choose what we want to be in the future, how we’re going to achieve that goal, what college we’ll go to, etc. However, along the way there are dreams that people usually just write off as hobbies, dreams that are sometimes seen as impractical or near impossible. Dreams we leave as dreams.

For me these are my dreams of becoming a model, joining Bb. Pilipinas (Ms. Philippines), starting a blog, becoming an ice-skating princess, becoming a photographer, etc. These are the dreams where I say to myself that if an opportunity comes up, I’ll grab it, but I don’t actively seek out these opportunities. I’m always just waiting. These are the dreams where I think, “Oh, I’ll do this when I have more time or when I’m older and have more experience.” Honestly though, I think I’ve been spurting out excuses like that since 2009 or 2010, when I was in high school. I always find some reason not to start, I say I’m too busy, I can’t do it, I’m too young, I’m not good enough, or I don’t have the resources. There’s always some new insecurity, some new excuse. I’m always just waiting for the “right time.”

Take it from me, the time where you magically have more time, experience, and no insecurities, never comes. It’s never the “right time.” You always just find a new excuse. Yet everywhere, all over the world, there are people around my age or even younger than me, fulfilling their dreams, chasing their dreams, so what excuse do we really have?

The insecurities, the fears will never go away, but we can’t let them take control of our lives. Yes, it’s scary, but it’s better than just waiting around to catch our dreams, we need to chase after them, whatever that dream may be.

So I guess this is my attempt to jumpstart my being a dream chaser and not just a dream catcher. I’m taking the step, or more like leaping into this really really scary dark abyss. Will you?

P.S. This blog will probably be about things I’m interested in like books, fashion, travel, and all sorts of other crazy adventures. Hit that follow button! Let’s be friends!

7 thoughts on “Newbie Dream Chaser

  1. Ariana says:

    I’ve had big dreams for awhile, but just now I’ve started reaching out and steadily chasing. I love this post, and good luck with your own dream chasing.
    Ariana
    ravenwingssoar.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. natashaballif says:

    Do you live in a Philippines?! I am in absolute LOVE with the Philippines!

    My husband lived there off and on for about 3 years and is fluent in Tagalog! He is so good that most Filipinos think one of his parents is from there. He took me to there about a year and a half ago and I just fell in love! It’s so beautiful; everything about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

